Storystorm Day 26: Idea 26

Today’s idea came from a conversation about writing technique. Another writer was telling me about how she doesn’t think too much about her stories before she writes. She has the idea and just starts putting it down and lets the story go where it will. And so she didn’t consider herself a “trained writer.”

Well, I can’t think of a worse thing than a “trained writer.”

That’s not true at all. I can think of so many worse things, including blowing nothings out of proportion.

But I still thought the idea of a trained writer like a trained dog was an interesting idea. And there is this market for meta picture books about picture books, so I thought about a dog writer that is trained to write the most predictable stories. The dog wants to write stories where the main character chases its own tail or jumps on the furniture, but fights the urge to follow its training. But after realizing those stories are the not the stories it was supposed to tell, the dog lets its character chase after that car and go wild.

And yes, I am aware the very image I used for this post should have made me realize that this idea isn’t that completely original, but I’m sticking with it.

Leave a Reply

