Storystorm Day 8: Idea 8

Storystorm is a movement- yeah I think I could call it a movement- created by Tara Lazar in which writers take on the challenge of coming up with a picture book idea a day for the month of January. It’s a month of brainstorming for stories. Hence, Storystorm. The goal is to end the month with 30 new ideas to have in the holster.

Sounds like fun, so I’m going to try it. I don’t imagine I’ll find too many gems here, but I hope to mine for some coal that can be refined over time and polished into diamonds. I don’t know if gems come from coal, but it’s all rocks (are gems even rocks, actually? I could just look it up, but I’m not going to. I’m saving my effort for the actual ideas, not the metaphor about the ideas). And I’m going to share my ideas here, and hopefully turn this into a collaborative experience. I’ll throw out the initial impulse, and hopefully it’ll inspire something in someone else, and inspire something else in someone else and who knows how many different stories can be inspired from one seed. All I ask is you add something to the initial idea in the comments, show how you’re making it your own and taking it somewhere further than it was when you found it. Then I give you my blessing to take it.

So here we go:

Nope. Not gonna happen today. I am pretty very sick and my brain won’t help me today. In fact, there’s a good chance none of this is legible. Assuming it’s really happening. I have barely been conscious today.

And this is after yesterday’s post about the love of snow. Is it a coincidence that I’m ill after going out in the snow? Maybe. Maybe not. But would it have been worth it, this terrible feeling just so I can get some time in the snow? You’re damn right it was. Because all things have consequences, and it’s important to recognize the pros and cons. So that’s my idea for a story today. You take the good with the bad and you live with it. But if you didn’t do the good because you’re afraid of the bad, then you’ll never have that good with you for the rest of your life.

And honestly, I’m not sure that’s a real idea. It makes sense in the fog.

Leave a Reply

