Storystorm Day 7: Idea 7

Storystorm is a movement- yeah I think I could call it a movement- created by Tara Lazar in which writers take on the challenge of coming up with a picture book idea a day for the month of January. It’s a month of brainstorming for stories. Hence, Storystorm. The goal is to end the month with 30 new ideas to have in the holster.

Sounds like fun, so I’m going to try it. I don’t imagine I’ll find too many gems here, but I hope to mine for some coal that can be refined over time and polished into diamonds. I don’t know if gems come from coal, but it’s all rocks (are gems even rocks, actually? I could just look it up, but I’m not going to. I’m saving my effort for the actual ideas, not the metaphor about the ideas). And I’m going to share my ideas here, and hopefully turn this into a collaborative experience. I’ll throw out the initial impulse, and hopefully it’ll inspire something in someone else, and inspire something else in someone else and who knows how many different stories can be inspired from one seed. All I ask is you add something to the initial idea in the comments, show how you’re making it your own and taking it somewhere further than it was when you found it. Then I give you my blessing to take it.

So here we go:

I love snow. I love everything about it. I love the air before the snow. I love watching it fall and watching it pile up. And of course I love doing anything in the snow. And today I got my first real snowfall of the year. I would like to write about snow, but so many have done it before. What hasn’t been said about snow before? Well, hopefully, what I have to say about it (“I” could mean you, if you’re reading this- every writer should believe they’re writing because they have something to say in a way no one else can say it).

So I have to think deep to understand what about snow I love to find something no one may feel.

  • The animal footprints. Seeing evidence about something having been that you didn’t see. It’s like proof of ghosts.

  • The way the world stops. Before a city street is plowed, it feels like the world has come to an end. But everyone is okay. The world we knew has ended, but a magical world has taken its place. And the problems of that previous world are gone. Everyone can just go out and play… Is this one turning into a picture book for adults?

  • The way it blankets your entire world under the same cover. Before you shovel your own walkway, you can’t tell where you’re meets your neighbors. It’s all just snow.

That’s my start. Now I’m going to see if anyone has touched on these themes. And wait to see if anyone else can touch on something so universal and also so personal about themselves that it digs out something even deeper in me.

 

Leave a Reply

